2.5 days in oahu, hawaii!!

I had the most amazing weekend in Oahu over Labor Day weekend. In just 2.5 days, my friend David and I 1) did two hikes 2) chilled at two beaches 3) jumped out of a plane and 3) ate a ton of good food. From LA, Hawaii is ~5 hours away by plane so weekend trips are actually possible!

IMG_2505

We started my introduction to Oahu with a 5-mile hike (Kuliouou Ridge Trail).

IMG_2511

Kuliouou is so beautiful! It was honestly everything I expected from hiking in Hawaii. There are trees. There are clouds. There are amazing views. Keep reading!

IMG_2519

IMG_2526

IMG_2531

Oh, and there are stairs to help you climb…!

IMG_2542

Great view, right??

IMG_2547

I’m a bada$$ 😉

IMG_2556

Final stretch to the top…

IMG_2557

Final set of stairs…they were really steep.

IMG_2560

IMG_2086

V for Victory!!!

IMG_2571

This view was totally worth the 3 hours of nonstop sweating and falling. Highly recommend this hike for all visitors!

IMG_2092

After our hike, we swung by Fresh Catch for some poke. I loooooove sashimi and am now a huge fan of poke.

IMG_2093

IMG_2094

I’m not the biggest fan of Hawaiian food though. It was extremely heavy! Poke all day everyday 🙂

IMG_2596

After a brief eating break, we headed out to Lanikai. Lanikai is in Kailua near the southeastern corner of the island. The beaches are absolutely beautiful and preferred by locals (aka fewer tourists). Before hitting the beach, we decided to be tough cookies and hike the Lanikai Pill Box trail. It was much shorter than the first hike but more intense and steep. I definitely recommend hiking shoes for this one. I was sliding the entire way down!

IMG_2598

The view atop the second (and higher up) pill box was amazing. I even made friends with the two friendly Japanese uncles sitting in the shade. (Note the Starbucks ^__^)

IMG_2612

IMG_2096

I believe I can fly!!!

IMG_2099

My amazing host/friend/photographer, David!

IMG_2621

Hiked out for the day/week/month, we chilled and napped on this beautiful beach. What an incredible first day in Oahu!

IMG_2137

Day 2 started with some crazy adrenaline rush. Check out my post on skydiving for some awesome photos!

Afterwards, we drove to the North Shore and swung by Giovanni’s for some homegrown Hawaiian shrimp.

IMG_2138

What a truck.

IMG_2644_1

I’m not a shrimp lover but I absolutely killed that dish. We got the shrimp scampi plate, which consisted of a dozen shrimp marinated in olive oil, chopped garlic and lemon butter and served with two scoops of rice all drizzled with garlic lemon. If that description doesn’t make you hungry…then something is obviously wrong. Be warned though, the lines on weekends are quite long. We waited 45 minutes but it was well worth it! I loaded upon pineapples and coconuts in the meantime.

IMG_2650

This palm tree provided me with all of 10 inches of shade. My friend David is an amazing photographer as well. 🙂

IMG_2655

I ate too much shrimp.

IMG_2675

On the way back to the city, we stopped by a pretty beach and took some artistic shots.

IMG_2680_1

That’s the Chinese Fisherman’s Hat island.

IMG_2692

Looks good on me, right?

IMG_2161

I had the best weekend getaway ever! From the green mountains, to the dazzling beaches, Hawaii is absolutely gorgeous. I am most definitely coming back. Thinking about hiking to Na Poli Coast in Kauai next…!

All pictures taken by David ^_^

3 thoughts on “2.5 days in oahu, hawaii!!

Leave a Reply

